Student Playwriting Competition

The Questors Student Playwriting Competition


Dame Judi Dench


The Questors Theatre is in its 90th anniversary season and the winner of the QSPC will have their play produced in spring 2020 in our studio theatre. Following the submission of over 200 scripts it is with great pleasure that we are able to announce the 15 entries on the QSPC Longlist 2019. They are, in no particular order:

Grant Corr (University of East Anglia) - Dead Boy Café, Quarry
Elliot Brett (University of Bristol) -  My People
Rebekah King (University of Birmingham) - The Lady’s Mad
Isabelle Kassam (Goldsmiths College, University of London) - Brona
Cathleen Freedman (Fordham University at Lincoln Center, NY, USA) - The Wilde and Rambling Consequence of Being Virginia
Olivia Sawatzki (The Ohio State University, USA) - being alive & other big jokes
Rohan Gotobed (University of East Anglia) - The Shelleys
Madeleine Accalia (University of East Anglia) - When We Stopped Singing
Rhys Clarke (University of Warwick) - Thompson and Son’s
George Rennison (University of East Anglia) - The Contiguous Cull
Louis Akihito Cummings (Roehampton University) - Saffron Hill
Hope Dimmer (Nottingham Trent University) - Mrs. Morley
Lucas Fisher-Horas (University of Bath) - Edge Pence
Sophia Miller de Vega (Goldsmiths College, University of London) - DOGS BITE


First prize

•    £2,000
•    A performance of your play staged at The Questors Studio in spring 2020

Second prize

•    £750

Judging panel to include:

•    Oliver Ford Davies (playwright, producer and actor)
•    Tamara von Werthern (Nick Hern books)
•    Carl Grose (Deputy Artistic Director of Kneehigh Theatre)

Sponsored by the Alan Davidson Foundation

The Questors Theatre, 12 Mattock Lane, Ealing W5 5BQ
Box Office 020 8567 5184, Theatre Office 020 8567 0011
The Questors Ltd, Registered in England 469253, Registered Charity 207516
Creative Ealing